What does life as a woman or girl look like in your country / city / town / village? Any issues / challenges / exciting milestones?

Being a woman, a girl or a lady means limits in my community. I have always wanted to be a great fashion designer but my family is not in approval so they enrolled me into a teacher training college. They always get upset with me when I bring up the topic of me pursuing my dreams and passion.

What would you like the world to know about YOU? What life experience, challenge or achievement do you want to share?

I am 22 years old and a student in college. I am an up-and-coming fashion designer. When my family refused to let me pursue my dreams I was really down. At a point, I gave up everything I was doing... burnt all my designs, gathered all my work and locked it away never wanting to do that again... but I couldn’t even go through just one day without new ideas and designs in my head. It was killing me and I couldn’t change me because that is just who I am. I made the decision never to stop what I was doing even if no one supports.

So I started learning online. And I just love how God created me because I just have to see or visualize what I want to make and I will make it without know anything. And that was the best I did. I started my own company and fashion brands, Ecua Geendall and D.A.R.K. AGES APPAREL, and even though I have not made it yet, I happy am still doing it.

What are you most passionate about and what are you doing with that passion?

I am very passionate about fashion and creating just about anything. I believe everyone can create and become whoever they want and it’s all in the mind. I have been able to start my own company and still building myself. I am still working on getting a platform where I am able to help young women out there, and especially in Ghana, to be independent women who are self made entrepreneurs, millionaires and other amazing people.

If you are an entrepreneur, tell us all about your business and how you got started.

I started my clothing line (specifically Ecua Geendall) with basically nothing. Sometimes, I would to the market and buy some beads and accessories and I would go home and make something, say a necklace, then my mom would wear it and her friends would love it so I started making some for them and got paid. Then, I created Facebook and Instagram accounts and started posting my work there and people started calling me to make something for them.

With D.A.R.K AGES apparel, I started it when I was working in one high school in Takoradi where I am located.  It was a boys school and I realized how these boys loved those things. So I got into contact with some of the guys and they helped me with ideas and hyping the brand.

How have the women and girls around you helped you to get to where you are today?

It’s been hard because I haven’t had girls or women helping me out. My mom has been really helpful but she only believe it’s just a hobby and it will pass. I had my best friend buy my t-shirt. Yes, they have helped but I believe they can do much than this because funny enough I am surrounded by women who can actually really help me out (especially financially) but well no...

Describe yourself in one word: "I am...

a dream-maker.

Complete this sentence: "To be a girl or woman today, is to be..."

Independent and self made